Problems of a pregnant lady

I found that Facebook really doesn’t care that much about my pregnancy updates. I mean, I’m no special snowflake. Millions of women over many many centuries have incubated and birthed their own Raptors, Peanuts, and whatever other moniker you give your kid.

So I really didn’t think that Facebook cared that I couldn’t sleep last night. J and I went down to the River Concert at St. Mary’s College of Maryland as part of our 20s/ 30s Young Adult Ministry group with the Episcopal Church. It may have been hotter than the dickens, making this already hot pregnant lady hotter. And after enjoying LOTS of good food, BETTER company, and of course the music and fireworks, I could not get cool last night when we got home. A cold shower and two fans blowing on me didn’t help.

It also didn’t help that the Raptor kept me awake. If I laid on my left side, my back was uncomfortable, if I laid on my right side, I couldn’t sleep, and heaven forbid I lay on my back because then it felt like I had a 40 pound weight on top of me. It resulted in many trips to pee and frankly, I just gave up.

The Raptor is already up and moving. I had a conversation with a friend last night who did not enjoy being pregnant but loved feeling her daughter move inside of her. I think I’m the opposite. I really do enjoy being pregnant (besides the hot part, but hey, we’ve had record temperatures this summer). I look great, feel great, and am generally a much happier person. I do not, however, enjoy feeling the baby move. Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad it moves. I’m glad to know that the Raptor is doing what it’s supposed to be doing. But the feeling is odd and awkward and I haven’t gotten used to it yet. I am 19 weeks and I know I’m half way there so maybe by the end, I’ll enjoy that feeling a little more.

In other news, the 20 week ultrasound is scheduled for next Friday at 3pm. I can’t believe we are half way there and I can’t believe I have to wait a whole other week for this! Let’s hope the Raptor cooperates because I’m not sure I can wait any longer.

One thought on “Problems of a pregnant lady

  1. I am a follower! Love this, I mean hearing about your thought on the baby, not that you are so uncomfortable that you can’t sleep. How about “monkey butt”, (raptor seems so,… Jurrasic Park)? This is a great journal for when the baby gets older. You girls both have such a great talent for writing. I hope the sleeping thing gets under control for you. Maybe the baby is just saying don’t go in the heat, we don’t like it! LOL Rest well, please stay cool!

Leave a Reply

